Genome-wide Transcriptomic Analysis in *Clostridium beijerinckii* 8052 using Single-Nucleotide Resolution RNA-Seq Technology

Yi Wang, Holger Janssen, Xiangzhen Li, Yuejian Mao, Hans Blaschek\*

Department of Food Science and Human Nutrition;

\*Center for Advanced Bioenergy Research (CABER);

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Urbana, IL, USA



# Outline

#### 1. Introduction

- Research background of *C. beijerinckii* 8052
- RNA-Seq technology
- 2. Results
  - Transcriptome structure analysis of *C. beijerinckii* 8052
  - Genome-wide dynamic transcriptional analysis
- 3. Summary



# Clostridium beijerinckii 8052





### **RNA-Seq technology**



Passalacqua, et al. 2009. J Bacteriol. 191(10): 3203-3211



#### Transcriptome structure analysis





# **Glycolysis Gene Operon**



6 *gap:* glyceraldehyde-3-phosphate dehydrogenase; *pgk*: phosphoglycerate kinase; *tpi:* triosephosphate isomerase; *pgm:* phosphoglycerate mutase

UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS AT URBANA-CHAMPAIGN

#### sol operon structure



7 *ald*: aldehyde dehydrogenase; *ctfA/B:* acetoacetyl-CoA: acetate/butyrate-CoA transferase subunit A/B; *adc:* acetoacetate decarboxylase *adhE:* acetaldehyde-CoA/alcohol dehydrogenase;



# Transcription activity not currently annotated



## Putative mis-annotated regions





## Genome-wide dynamic transcriptional analysis



Circular plots of the sequence data mapping to the C. beijerinckii 8052 genome



#### Expression of primary metabolic genes



### Expression of sporulation genes



UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS AT URBANA-CHAMPAIGN

### Expression of motility genes





# Summary

- RNA-Seq provided both transcriptome structure and quantitative transcriptional information
- Transcriptome analyses using RNA-seq complement and improve genome annotation
- Acid and solvent formation genes exhibited temporal patterns in accordance with switch from acidogenesis to solventogenesis
- Sporulation genes were sequentially induced and demonstrated expression patterns corresponding to the sporulation program



## Acknowledgements

- Department of Energy (DOE)
- Dr. Roderick I. Mackie
- Dr. Dylan Dodd
- Dr. Heng Li (Broad Institute, Cambridge, MA)
- Dr. Timothy Perkins (Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute, UK)
- Drs. Nathan Price and Yong-Su Jin & their group members

